how to read a file

Ok, I’m NOT a coder per se, I do TV production. I’m OK with Applescript but things are NOT working with my XOJO app so I am trying to have XOJO read the text file (2 lines of text) instead of Applescript. Applkescripts always work when I click a button, but NOT when the app boots up and I need for something to happen.

Looking at the docs sample TextInputStream (below) makes no sense to me. The file is located in the Mac Users HOME folder. Easy to access with Applescript. Can someone help me get text from line 1 and 2 from the text file. Thanks so much from this beginner.

Dim f As FolderItem = GetOpenFolderItem("text") // as defined in File Type Sets Editor If f <> Nil Then If f.Exists Then // Be aware that TextInputStream.Open coud raise an exception Dim t As TextInputStream Try t = TextInputStream.Open(f) t.Encoding = Encodings.MacRoman TextArea1.Text = t.ReadAll Catch e As IOException t.Close MsgBox("Error accessing file.") End Try End If End If

SpecialFolder.UserHome.child(“nomefile.txt”)
For find file in user folder

dim f as folderitem
f = SpecialFolder.UserHome.child("nomefile.txt")
if f <> nil and f.exist then
   Dim t As TextInputStream
   Try
       t = TextInputStream.Open(f)
       t.Encoding = Encodings.MacRoman
       TextArea1.Text = t.ReadAll
   Catch e As IOException
       t.Close
       MsgBox("Error accessing file.")
       End Try
end if

if U want to read a line per line use t.readline and while not t.eof for make a loop
In try …

dim string_read as string
 t.Encoding = Encodings.MacRoman
while not t.eof
    string_read = t.readline
wend

Ciao da Italia.

thanks massi, I’ll put this code in my app and see if it works. thanks

Of anything, here we all help

many errors, can’t figure out how to fix it. I just need line 1 from the text file

Edit (Paul): Corrected image URL per Post Formatting Tips .