SQLite Named Parameters and Auto-Increment

Friends

I’m a total noob playing with Xojo for a week or so. I’m hipper to databases than I am to Xojo, so I didn’t expect to have so much of a problem with this, as in PHP (and a few other web languages) prepared statements give you a few options. I am told by the Xojo docs that SQLite named parameters are supported in prepared statements. A gentleman on the Database forum suggested otherwise, which is my experience thus far. Another gentleman wrote a source code generator which uses named parameters and, in place of a bind function, something called “sql.parameters(fieldname)”, about which I can find nothing. Does anybody know what the score is on this? And, if there is example code available, please point me in that general direction.

While I’m on the subject, the SQLite docs do not advise using autoincrement on a primary key field definition, citing overhead. They also mention (inscrutably, I think) that the invisible field (or property) ‘rowid’ is ‘aliased’ by the primary key, which, it must be assumed, inherits an autoincremented value. In my experience, this does not seem to be the case. I tried writing a null to my PK and leaving it unaddressed, and neither results in an autoincrement.
Thank you in advance for your consideration of this subject.

[quote=341160:@friedrich boettger] I am told by the Xojo docs that SQLite named parameters are supported in prepared statements.
[/quote]
Not sure where you got that impression but
http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/Database.Prepare
http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/SQLitePreparedStatement
would suggest otherwise
Use them positionally and you’ll find you have fewer issues