Kaju self-updater talk (v.2.x)

1. ‹ Older
  2. 3 months ago

Kem T

May 8 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro, XDC Speakers Connecticut

Just for testing, try changing the Major Version to 1 instead of 0 and see if that makes a difference. I mean in both the compiled app and the update info.

3. Thomas R

May 8 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro Berlin, Germany

@Kem T Just for testing, try changing the Major Version to 1 instead of 0 and see if that makes a difference. I mean in both the compiled app and the update info.

Perfect - I don't know why, but with a version number beginning with 1 the update is found in the compiled app.
    Thanks!

4. 2 months ago

Steve A

Jun 6 Little Falls, NJ

I'm new to Kaju, but it looks like a great addition to my app.

Unfortunately, I'm running into a problem with the Windows install. My zip file includes the VComponents files for Valentina. The log shows a failure trying to copy the vresourses folder into the install location. The relevant section of the log is below:

"Looking for item C:\Program Files\BC Kaju Tester\vresources" 
    "...found, copying" 
    C:\Program Files\BC Kaju Tester\vresources\* 
    The system cannot find the file specified.
            0 file(s) copied.
    "...FAILED! (Error 1)" 
     "Attempting to restore old application" 

On first glance, it appears to me that the script will not handle subfolders when copying the contents of a folder.

Could this be the case? I created a test app that does not use Valentina and all works fine.

5. Kem T

Jun 6 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro, XDC Speakers Connecticut

Could there be an invisible character in the folder name or in one of the file names that are gumming up the works? Does that folder have files in it? If you replace the contents of that folder with, say, a text file with an innocuous name, does it work? If you remove that folder but include another with an innocuous name and an innocuous file, does it work?

6. Christoph D