What does the new keyword Mean

Hello, Could someone explain what the new keyword means. Brake it down into simple words ( i am still a begginer programmer so don’t know many technical terms ). The code i used looks something like this.

image_one = new picture(File.Width, File.Height)

I have looked at the Xojo reference page but still found it hard to understand what it meant. As mentioned above, it will be great if you could brake it down into simple steps and explain it to me .

Thank you

You know, there’s a number of great resources for beginners.

First, if you’re an absolute beginner to programming, there’s the textbook. It teaches you to program as well as use Xojo at the same time. Great two-in-one system.

There’s also a manual that comes with Xojo that teaches you the ins and outs of using the IDE, the language, and the features within. You can find that in the Documentation folder next to your installation of Xojo. There’s also an online reference http://documentation.xojo.com

Lastly, when you’re ready to learn from examples, there’s a folder full of example projects next to your Xojo install called “Example Projects” It helps when you don’t intend to reinvent the wheel. Do not copy and paste code from example projects, that won’t help you at all.

New creates a new instance of a class.

In your case, image_one is the new instance which is created from Picture, the class.

http://developer.xojo.com/new

If you don’t know what the terms instance and class mean, follow all of Tim’s advice from step 1. Good luck.

sounds the the term RTFM is beginning to apply…
There are tons of programming resources available including Google
And you really should do your own research first.
We can help you understand things to get to a working solution, but you should first prove that you have made an attempt

[quote=330621:@Gavin Smith]New creates a new instance of a class.

In your case, image_one is the new instance which is created from Picture, the class.