HL7 Interfaces

Has anyone done any type of HL7 interface programming with RS or Xojo?

I have. A Windows service that interfaces a contractor developed web app to a dental package.

Nice. I’m interested in how you went about parsing the message. Are you doing any transforms to the message at all.

I did a bunch of research on this about two months ago. Unfortunately, I’m on the road and have none of that available. If you don’t get any good results send me a private email and I’ll try to find some of it.

Thanks, Bob. I’ve done alot of HL7 interfaces using RS and Xojo. Since I’m an HL7 Developer/Analyst, I’m interested in the different ways people have done this.

Ah, well then I should be talking to you rather than the other way around!

I have a project that will need to use the HL7 interface. The only library I’ve really found is Chameleon but I’ve not even downloaded it yet (as I have a list a mile long for the rest of the project).

Sorry about the multiple private conversations. I kept getting an error saying it couldn’t save the message, but apparently it did

I was in the medical branch or about 10 years, we used Chameleon back then to map packages, mostly because when starting it then we had limited in house knowledge of HL7. If I had to do it again then I would never go that way, would probably attempt to create a parser. Whats right or you may also depend on your knowledge of HL7 and its syntaxes, and differences between different versions, and most of all the scale o what you need ask n how many package types and how complex they are. We only had to dead with like 8 send packages and 2 receive ones.

Part of our problem is that the client really hasn’t defined what has to be done. HL7 is a vague ‘want’ with nothing concrete other than wanting to integrate into ‘medical devices’.

Bob, let me know if you need any assistance.