Running a separate console app from within Xojo

Although I have been using Xojo for many years, I am trying to do something new (for me) and write a chess GUI interface that uses the open source stockfish engine. This engine is a console app and takes input from the console and returns the best move as a string. What I seek is a way to start this app from within a separate Xojo app, feed in the necessary information and use the best move string that is returned. Can anyone point me to a discussion of how to do this?

Although not important to the above question, the stockfish engine use the UCI protocol, which is string based and very simple. So all input and output is in the form of strings that show up inside a terminal window.

Thanks in advance for helping me with this problem.

Can you use a Shell?

I would be happy to use a Shell if I knew what one was!

a Class that behaves in many ways LIKE a terminal window (although there are some significant differences) that you can send commands to a program and get responses

Shell is a Xojo statement.

See the Xojo help example for the details.

Shell will let you run an external program and return the complete output of that command into a string that would normally print to a terminal window. You will then be able to parse that output to get the parts you need.

If the command line program requires keyboard input you will have to likely have to put your “input” into a text file and then redirect that input to the console program as if it came from the keyboard. Something like this:

YourProgramName < TextFileOfCommands.txt

Where the TextFileOfCommands.txt will contain the input you would normally type as keyboard input after launching the program. The LessThan symbol makes the operating system copy the content of the text file into the program as if it was input by the keyboard. It is possible this may not work if the program does not use the standard In/Out method for input and output.