Need help with Cocoa Declare

I have limited experience with Cocoa declares and need help constructing one calling NSAccessibilityValueChangedNotification.

I need to call this after dynamically in code swapping over my main window’s menubar so that Cocoa’s accessibility inspector registers the change and updates the available UI elements list for dictation commands. Right now without this Cocoa doesn’t register the change unless the app loses focus to another app and then regains focus.

https://developer.apple.com/reference/appkit/nsaccessibilityvaluechangednotification

void NSAccessibilityPostNotification(id element, NSString *notification);

I’m not sure if I have to pass Ptr(window.handle) as the object id or Ptr(window.menubar.handle) as the object id or create a reference to the object in another way.

I also don’t understand how to pass the NSAccessibilityValueChangedNotification parameter. Should this be a class or constant value?

Please can someone help me out with this. Many thanks.

Without guarantee (untested):

Declare Sub NSAccessibilityPostNotification Lib "AppKit.framework" (id as ptr, notification as CFStringRef) NSAccessibilityPostNotification(ptr(control.handle), "NSAccessibilityValueChangedNotification")

or id as integer and then pass only control.handle and the Notification name.

The control depends on what control you want to send the notification.

EDIT: Tested now and got no errors.

Hi Ulrich. Thanks for the code. It makes sense when I see it. Unfortunately I have tried all the variations below (separately of course) and while it compiles it doesn’t seem to update the Cocoa dictation Speech Commands window. Any ideas why this might be?

[code]Declare Sub NSAccessibilityPostNotification Lib “AppKit.framework” (id as Integer, notification as CFStringRef)
'Declare Sub NSAccessibilityPostNotification Lib “AppKit.framework” (id as ptr, notification as CFStringRef)