Console App and Server Socket

Hi,
Trying to make a console app that serves as a Server receiving TCP connections But when I add the Code MainServerSocket.Listen to Event Run I get an Error (See image attached)

Anybody have a Hit on what I’m doing wrong xD

Make a property of the serversocket subclass to App or in a module then make an instance with New

Thanks for that fast reply.
BUT I’m still lost … I am extremely new to Xojo
Sooo i should create a property Named ServerSocket within the socket itself or just under App?

In App add a property name it MyServer As MainServerSocket.

In App.Open event: MyServer = New MainServerSocket
On the first line or so.

…and then use MyServer.Listen

Your problem is that you didn’t create an instance of your ServerSocket subclass.

Thanks guys that did the trick and this also helped me wrap my head around some Basics
Now to Pass the connection onto another socket and trade file … The Fun Begins :smiley:

Thanks Again

Whoa wait… if you are using ServerSocket, it already passes the connections around for you. You don’t need to do anything to get that to work.

On Greg’s note … can’t get Addsocket event under MainServerSocket to fire If a ServerSocket enters a listening state its “suppose” to fire AddSocket event -_-

Only if it is listening. It could be that the port you’ve chosen is already in use.

Can you show us the code you’re using to set up the MainServerSocket instance?

I Used Drek code

NOTE: I can Connect to my App from my Computer and the App"ServerSocket" is Located on a remote server, I opened that port on the firewall as well.

Ah, unless you run as a super user, you may not be able to listen on ports below 1024. Try something like 8080 and see if that works.

Changed it to Port 5780 it Connects but AddSocket event still not firing… I use this to Connect: