Android app development tool

1. last year

Pietro B

16 Mar 2017 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro Europe (Swiss, Chiasso)

I think in this forum surely there's a Xojo developer that also is developing android apps, so I would like to ask to him a tip.
    I'm a Xojo developer from 10 years and now I have to develop android apps too. Working on mac and knowing Xojo, which android develop tool/framework/ide could be interesting to evaluate?

Any tip will be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance

2. Paul B

16 Mar 2017 Pre-Release Testers, Xojo Pro Europe (UK, Somerset)
    Edited last year

Sadly, as you are MacOnly (although paralells/virtualbox with Windows would assist), I can only recommend B4X from Anywhere Software as has been mentioned in other threads, its certainly what I use and relatively cheap but Windows only. XOJO Android is on the road map so I don't know what your timescale is :-)

3. Pietro B

@Paul B Sadly, as you are MacOnly (although paralells/virtualbox with Windows would assist)...

Thanks Paul for your tip. Obviously, use Mac is my preferred choiche, but not the unique one. With Xojo, I also use windows and linux when I need, so I'm open to use any platform the develop android apps.

4. Dave S

16 Mar 2017 San Diego, California USA

@PietroBeccegato @Paul B Sadly, as you are MacOnly (although paralells/virtualbox with Windows would assist)..

Trying to figure out what this statement has to do with the OP?

5. Michel B

16 Mar 2017 Pre-Release Testers RubberViews.com
    Edited last year

B4X is quite usable, once you get pass the dreadfully antiquated IDE.

In terms of language, it is closer to VB6 and lacks the elegance and power of Xojo, but everything is there.

Never used it in a VM, but it should not be too much of an issue.

6. Edited last year