Xojo + Raspberry Pi = Car-puter!

Hi everyone!

I’m a brand-new Xojo user! Just got Xojo about 2 weeks ago. I was a VB programmer for many years and Xojo seems very similar to VB (but a lot more capable). I’m excited to be able to develop applications for the Raspberry Pi.

I’m working on a project that will end up being installed in my classic 1988 Corvette. If you’re interested, here’s a link to the discussion thread on the Corvette enthusiast board I frequent:

http://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-general-discussion/3935018-any-interest-in-a-1-5-din-car-computer-for-84-89-vettes.html

http://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/c4-tech-performance/3935566-1984-1989-1-5-din-car-computer-project.html

I just posted a video clip that shows the beta version of the Xojo application I’m developing:

https://youtu.be/CO5RwiTbiPQ

Anyone else using Xojo for car-puter type projects?

-Wes

Hello Wes,

nice project!

How do you integrate the OMXPlayer?

Volkmar

Hi Volkmar,

Integrating OMXPlayer into a Xojo application is really just creating the illusion of integration. In general terms this how I do it:

1. I use an “asynchronous” shell to launch the OMXPlayer and wait for the ‘Completed’ event to let me know when the player is finished playing music or video.

2. I use a “synchronous” shell to issue D-BUS commands to the OMXPlayer. Once the OMXPlayer is launched, I immediately start polling the OMXPlayer in a loop until I get a valid response. This tells me that the OMXPlayer is up and running and is ready to accept commands.

3. I continue to use a “synchronous” shell whenever needed to issue D-BUS commands to the OMXPlayer such as: pause, resume, stop, seek, change video size and position etc.

I created a Xojo class that encapsulates the nitty-gritty details of controlling the the OMXPlayer and maintaining state information.