version control question

No, I am not trying to start a holy war by asking which one to use. I am just curious… I have never used a VCS before but am familiar with the concepts. I only have a desktop license so I cannot save in text format, only binary. Would a VCS still be worth using? I am a solo programmer.

I’ve thought about just putting together some scripts and use rsync to save off copies as I go.

Thanks,

Phil

IMHO opinion, yes, even if you stick to binary, using version control is a real good idea to avoid losing your work, or to be able to go back to a working version.

You need some text version for VCS to be useful. I think @Thomas Tempelmann 's Arbed might help you, but beyond that…

If you did have the ability to save in text, is it worth it for a single developer? Absolutely! And I say that having once been where you are now, creating multiple backups and the like. It’s just not the same thing, and the first time you need to see where something broke or partially discard some code you were playing with, you’ll understand why. Consider upgrading your license just for this ability, if you can.

Right now I’m more of a hobbyist coder, so I can’t really justify upgrading my license. But I am constantly playing around and changing things in my programs which is why I am thinking VCS would be a good idea. Plus it would help me keep things more organized. I’ve read some stuff about using Arbed with SmartGIT, Tower, etc… as the diff tool.

Even without being able to see the diffs, the additional security brought by something such as Bitbucket is appreciable.