Linux - Virtual Box - Remote Debug

I have Linux Mint running on my iMac in Oracles Virtual Box. There I have Xojo installed.
If I start the remote debugger in Linux it gives me the IP address
I put that in the “Run Remote” dialog in the OSX version of Xojo, but it “fails to connect”
is there a problem/issue with doing “remote” debugging between a “real computer” and a VM?
This was the only reason I installed Linux at all, was to test with

No, that’s what most of us use VMs for.
Something must be disconnected in your setup somewhere. I’m not a Linux expert, so this is where my advice ends :frowning:

Yeah… I’m no Linux person at any level… just trying to find things is a PITA… and I’m sure there are all kinds of utiltiies, but no clue where they are… I don’t know if there is a password I need or not… if there is… it doesn’t work , and the error message is so helpful :slight_smile:

I use either Parallels or VMWare for this very reason. In my experience the Virtual Box networking model is just to fragile for remote debugging.

I run Virtual Box on a Linux host and have run the remote debugger down into Windows and Linux VMs. Most of the issues deal with making sure that the firewall is open for the communications to occur between host and VM.

With virtualbox I add a host-only network (vboxnet0) to each VM. It becomes available in the remote debugger setup dialog (have to choose it from the popup) . I haven’t had any issues since I started doing it this way. Various flavors of mac/win/linux all working well. Plus, it doesn’t break if I’m off my home network.

being unemployed for the last year… investing in either is out of the question

Kevin, Jim… I have NO idea what you just said… like I mentioned above… no clue how to even FIND this info in Linux, let alone change (or even know what to change)

for whats it worth… I have an old MacPro running Win10 under bootcamp, and I can and have been using remote debug with it for years.