Anyone deploy web app cgi to Godaddy?

Has anyone successfully deployed a web app cgi to Godaddy? I put together a test web app with just a button and a textfield. Built it for Linix. Uploaded it with Filezilla (binary) and keep getting 500 internal server error. The server log shows internal errors with the Xojo cgi file. I have a test cgi file designed to output environment variables as a testing cgi and it executes OK. I’m stuck with Godaddy as the host and in an area I have little knowledge.

Log Errors

1. can’t use an undefined value as a symbol reference at webcgitest.cgi line 118.:
  2. libgobject-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory:
  3. Failed to find/load Framework library:

Search “GoDaddy” in the forum. There is a full page. It may help.

If you have a shared hosting account you probably won’t get it to work. At one point I was able to get a very tiny Xojo web app working on BlueHost but, in general, shared hosting accounts don’t like an always on application like Xojo. You will be MUCH better served by getting a VPS (virtual private server).

If you are unfamiliar with setting up your own server, I highly recommend using Xojo Cloud or ServerWarp http://serverwarp.com. Neither are cheap but it will take a bunch of hassle out of your life.

My sharing host shut down my account without warning three times, each time moving me onto a more expensive plan before they would re-enable my account — so beware.

If you’re too skint for Xojo Cloud then consider setting up a spare PC as a DMZ in your home/office and configure the DNS on your host to point to your home e.g. XojoApps.MyMegaCorp.com points to home/office while www.MyMegaCorp.com points to your host.

As anything, do it yourself is most of the time possible, but it requires efforts. When it comes to hosts, it could also be a time consuming and frustrating experience. I did try my first app on a shared hosting back in 2012, but quickly realized I needed more.