How to get long HTML table onto Xojo page for multi-page printing?

I’m new to Xojo, and am building my first database-driven Web app at the moment. I’d like to create a printable report from the data, which when printed is likely to be several pages long. It looked like a good way to accomplish this might be to create a long HTML table containing the info to be printed. Creating the HTML source is not a problem and is working fine. Where I’m running into difficulties is with how to get it onto a Web page in Xojo.

I tried using an HTML Viewer control, but I couldn’t see any way of making it dynamically expand vertically to fit the HTML source - so if there’s too much data it gets truncated and a scroll bar is displayed. So no use for printing.

Next idea was to use a “PageSource” control. However, I’m having trouble getting my lovingly-created HTML into it! If I put a PageSource control on a Web page, and create an “Edit Source” Event Handler for it, containing the code:

Source = "<p>Hello there.</p>"

…then it works fine. But if I pass the aforementioned lovingly-created HTML to the Web page as a parameter to a Method, store the HTML in a String Property of the Web page with the Pagesource control on it, and then try to use my String Property’s contents as the source for my PageSource control, it displays nothing.

The problem seems to be - as far as I can see - something to do with the order in which things happen. It looks like the “EditSource” Event Handler is firing before the Method I’m calling has had a chance to put the HTML source into the Property. If this is correct, is there anything that can be done about it? Or would I be better using a different technique entirely to get my HTML table displayed as a multi-page printout? (without using third-party add-ons)

Thanks,

Dave

Hi David,

Xojo Web is not really designed for ad-hoc HTML tags. Everything is designed around the desktop metaphor so everything has exact positioning.