How to get screen dpi ?

hi folks!

I need to get the dpi value of the screen, but the screen class does not allow me to access this property. Searching the web was also not successful, just got a note that this can be read out by a declare. Anyway, since I’m not an expert here, I totally hang.

Can you provide me with some help on how to reading the screen dpi on both platforms I need, OS X and Windows?

Would be a great for m project. Thank you,
Carsten.

With 2016R1 and over, if you set your app to be HiDPI aware, you can use Graphics.ScaleX and Graphics.ScaleY.

http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/graphics

Thank you, but I need the dpi value as integer to do some mathematical calculations. So scaling a graphic is unfortunately useless for what I need to do.

Whatever. Sorry for trying to help. Good luck :stuck_out_tongue:

The base dpi is 72 on OS X and 96 on Windows. If you multiply those by TrueWindow.ScaleFactor, you’ll get what you need.

@Greg O’Lone: Is this always the case regardless what kind of display, graphics card and resolution is being used ?

@Michel: No matter, I appreciate any help, but it was simply not what I looked for. Why are you so impolite? Was not meant offending from my side.

Maybe I should be more precise in what I’m trying to achieve: My goal is to measure elements on the screen in millimeters. For this task I need to know how many pixels are exactly one millimeter.

I thought the best way to do so is to get the dpi value and use it for further calculation. If this is not the right way to do so, please let me know.

Carsten,

I think it would be best to be more precise when asking for help

Remember everyone who helps here does so because they want to and not for being paid

I understand it can be hard to explain upfront what the request is but please be kind and update your question when asked and not expect anything other then community help :slight_smile: