Delete remote file

How do i delete a remote file?
I tried the HTTPSocket.SendRequest(“DELETE”, URL as string, Timeout as integer) but nothing happens.
Can someone advise or direct me in the right the direction?

Is the server that should do the relative action (remove resource, reduce a counter or whatever delete means for that server)
what’s the sever reply status?

I would expect you need to have authentication for this.

PS: You can use MBS CURL Plugin for this. Supports SFTP, FTPS and FTP, too.

I get a status code OK but nothing happens the file is still there.

here is my code and please be kind. I am new to this. :slight_smile:

Dim filename, path, deletefile as string
Dim urlSocket As New HTTPSocket

filename = listbox1.cell(0,0)
path = "http://10.1.1.6/DCIM/" + combobox1.text + "/" + filename
deletefile = urlSocket.SendRequest("DELETE", path, 30)
MsgBox Str(urlSocket.HTTPStatusCode.ToText)

My understanding is an HTTP DELETE requests the server delete the supplied resource. Unless it’s your server and you’ve implemented this request to delete a file, I don’t suspect it’s going to do anything.

The “server” is just an sd card in a camera that I connect to via Wifi.
I am able to do Httpsocket.get and download the photo but now i want to be able to delete it.
Is that possible. Authentication is not necessary as it is done when the Wifi connection is established.

[quote=245401:@Kareem Danish]The “server” is just an sd card in a camera that I connect to via Wifi.
I am able to do Httpsocket.get and download the photo but now i want to be able to delete it.
Is that possible. Authentication is not necessary as it is done when the Wifi connection is established.[/quote]
Is there an API or documentation? What kind of card is it?

@Tim Parnell
It is a microSD card in a wifi enabled camera. Not aware of any API.

most SD cards in cameras mount the same as if they were a USB Flash drive, so no TCP/Socket is required… just normal “disk” operations