Receive video stream RTSP and or ONVIF

Hi all,

I’m trying to port one of my windows programs to an iOS application finally and am having problems. I work with a number of video streams from web cameras (mostly using RTSP streams or most recently with ONVIF compliant cameras).

http://www.onvif.org

I’m very new to iOS and have limited exposure to the framework so have tried using the standard web viewer with some success as it works with a motion jpeg stream well.

The issue is that I’m working towards a H264 decode that works in VLC and similar (from the camera manual):

DESCRIBE rtsp://myserver/axis-media/media.amp
?videocodec=h264&resolution=640x480 RTSP/1.0
CSeq:  0
User-Agent:  Axis AMC
Accept:  application/sdp

Obviously when I get this in the right format within a web viewer container, it wants me to open an app (such as VLC). Is there anyway to decode and display a RTSP stream within a Xojo app either natively or with a plugin?

Thanks very much once again all!

Cheers,
James

Interesting topic - I am also in pursuit of coding RTSP capabilities into XOJO for Desktop, laptop and eventually IOS apps. I am currently looking into the HTML Viewer. Other than that no luck