What hosting services are you using?

Hi:

What hosting companies are other people using rather than Xojo cloud? I originally started trying to deploy to Godaddy, but I have little experience with servers so after a great deal of frustration, I switch to Xojo’s cloud.

Now, I have been stalled for the better part of a week because I can’t deploy to the server. I get the following error, An error occurred while connecting to the Xojo Cloud server, for days on end. I have been able to deploy 2 times in the last 3 days. Now, with it being Friday evening, I am probably shut down unit Monday noon when customer support finally gets to my problem. They are always helpful, but the problem persists. It will get fixed basically for one deployment, then I am back to the same problem.

Does anybody know of step-by-step instructions for deploying to another server for us “non-server” types. I know Bob Keeney has instructions on his web site but they are a little dated, and not geared towards Godaddy.

I would appreciated any thoughts and suggestions.

I know it costs about $US35 per month plus a Mac Mini, but I use a co-located Mac and run as many Web apps as I want as standalone. Super fast. I only wish my provider had offices in the Europe/UK/Pacific. To deploy I drag the compiled app up then double-click on it (or drag it into a new terminal window and change the port number if needed, then press Return).

I launch the apps on startup and they run in a terminal window. When I merge all the windows they look like this (via Apple Screen Share):

I don’t need to worry about cgi permissions and I have both PostgresApp and MySQL running on the same box. But if I have a problem I cannot fix remotely it costs me $US90 per incident (ouch!).