Why Xojo instead of Xcode?

Xcode with Swift seems to make developing for iOS a lot more easier than it was with Objective-C.

Why would you prefer using Xojo instead of Xcode considering that Xcode is free and Xojo costs $299 per year?

I would like to hear opinions from people who have experience with developing in both Xojo and Xcode.

NB: I’m honestly interested in this. It’s not my intention to criticise Xojo in any way. I understand that Xojo cannot give their product away for free.

For me it’s very simple. I’m a Windows developer and Xojo opens the iOS world to me. I did have to refactor a bunch of my core library’s, but that also prepares me for x64 and the whole new framework. It’s done I’m ready.

Without Xojo I wouldn’t even be bothered with iOS.

Curious… you say you are a Windows Developer and Xojo opens the iOS world … .But Xojo iOS requires the installation of XCode… so I’m not sure why being a “Windows Developer” was relavent, as opposed to refactoring XOJO desktop for iOS.

Personally I have found the iOS for Xojo to be robust in a few places (very few), and lacking in way too many others, so without getting into a flame war or violating this forum, I’ll just say I have found SWIFT to be much more productive use of my resources in regards to iOS from both a cost (its free) and support (100% native) point of view.

NOTE : the above are the opinions of the author, and should be respected as such.

Let’s try the reverse. What about refactoring Mac code to Windows or Linux later? Xcode can’t.

True, but this was posted in the iOS topic area, therefore one would assume that going from OSX → Win/Linux was not a factor :slight_smile:

I agree to Wayne.
The Time you Need to learn Xcode (Swift) should not be underestimated.
My Personal experience is - i needed only 3 weeks to start developing my first app and After another 4 weeks it’s ready to ship it to my customer.