Pinch zoom on iOS HTML Viewer

Anyone know if it’s possible to enable pinch to zoom on the iOS HTML viewer?

As far as I know yes. You must have the correct values for viewport in your html.

I’m a web dev by trade and I know you can set viewport meta tags to prevent resizing, however I thought resizing defaulted to available unless overridden. That seems to be the way it is with mobile safari anyway.

Also, I’m using an HTMLViewer to view PDFs as well as HTML pages. When you view a PDF in Safari on the iPad you can pinch to zoom etc. within the document. When you use Xojo’s HTML viewer you can’t, it’s stuck at 100%. The same is true for websites, images and local HTML pages.

I’d also be interested in a way to zoom/scale the contents of the iOS HTML viewer.

There is a rather simple code available for Safari desktop, but on iOS I could not get it to work.

Unfortunately, there is no ExecuteJavaScript for iOSHTMLViewer, so I figured instead I would send it to the DOM through a BookMarlet, as in

HTMLViewer1.LoadURL("javascript:alert('hello');")

No joy. Yet, bookmarklets exist in iOS, here is an example page Useful Bookmarklets for your iPad and iPhone - Digital Inspiration

But that requires apparently setting up bookmarks on the phone, which would not be convenient.

What we really need is ExecuteJavaScript. Then zooming by code should be possible.

<https://xojo.com/issue/39606>

Also, I filed a request for standard pinch zooming to work :

39608 - We need Zooming enabled in HTMLViewer iOS
Please enable the standard pinch zooming in iOS HTMLViewer, like any user will expect in Safari.

<https://xojo.com/issue/39608>

Thanks for the Feedback case Michel, I’ve signed on. Was meaning to do it myself but been working to a very tight deadline.

I don’t know the JavaScript for it, but you can execute JavaScript in an iOSHTMLViewer using declares as I posted in this conversation. https://forum.xojo.com/conversation/post/169870