Which database should I use?

Hi everyone!

Firstly, I’m very new to Xojo. I have had some experience with Matlab for my classes, but that was limited to assignment work, so I’m adjusting to new ways to code. I’m very excited about Xojo and what I’ll learn. :slight_smile:

My question is about databases. I’ve never had to develop a database before and I’m not sure what is the best option. Here’s my goal: I want to create a database where the user can input their merchandise and keep a log of it. Also, in a separate db, a list of customer information.

I’ve read that Oracle is really good, but honestly, this is the first time I’ve ever looked at this stuff.

If anyone has an interesting input, please feel free. And please forgive me in advance if I ask silly newbie questions. Everyone here is so smart!

Hi Kayla, welcome aboard.

Some additional information would be helpful. Are you intending to design a single-user desktop app, one that will be shared by thousands simultaneously, or something in between? Understanding the scope of where you intend to start and how large it might grow will help us to make a recommendation.

Some additional questions: How much data do you expect? MBs or GBs? How complex is your data structure going to be?

SQLite is the most simple database to use. Even so you should be familiar with things like ERM or SQL. Oracle is for those who seriously have too much money. In between there are other solutions (MySQL, PostgreSQL) that are multi-user. Valentina is both single- and multi-user.

oracle is also really expensive…
you may use sqlite for a single user database
and postgres for multi user database
they are both free to use
think of oracle as a 1000’s users database engine.

I would also say:

• SQLite for single user desktop application
  • Prostgres for multi user destop and anyway for web-app
    Both are free to use and even you can download free management tools for it.

Wow! Thanks for all the responses!