How to keep multiple IPCSocket connection

Hi,
With the IPCSocket connection(on Mac) example, it seems that only 2 connections could communicate as a server and client.
I’m considering to keep multiple slaves(through console app) for communicating with Server through IPCSockets.

Is there any way to keep multiple IPCSockets connections from Server to many slave console apps?
Array of IPCSockets?

Yes, an array of sockets would be the way to go. When creating helper apps, I usually spin up a socket on a particular path and then launch the helper app, giving it the path on the command line, so the two can easily link up.

Ok. Thanks.
Can you let me know how I can declare a array of IPCSockets? Seem to be very weird question.
I’m very new to Xojo.

Make a property inside the App class or within a module (because you want these to persist) and name it something like:

mySockets() as IPCSocket

Then whenever you need a new one, create it and then append it to the array:

mySockets.append newSocket

You’ll also want to create some cleanup code so that when a socket stops you can either start it listening again, or remove it from the array.

Thank you for the detail information.

I think it should look something like below.

Dim newsockets As IPCSocket
newsockets = New IPCSocket

mysockets.Append newsockets

mysockets(0).Path = SpecialFolder.Temporary.Child(“com.example.ipcsocketexample”).NativePath
mysockets(0).Connect
mysockets(0).Listen

From IPCSocket example, there is a IPCSocket control named CommSocket.
And, we can use several events such as Connected and Dataavailable…

With your approach, should I make a code like below to simulate the events above?

If mysockets(0).BytesAvailable Then

The path needs to be unique for each connection, so you want something more like:

for i as integer = 1 to NumberOfChildApps
   mysockets(i).Path = SpecialFolder.Temporary.Child("com.example.ipcsocketexample").NativePath + str(i)
next