iOS and SQLite

I am new to Xojo so I am trying to figure out if its the right tool for what I want to do.

My goal is to build a small iOS utility which is effectively a database - users can add items in a hierarchy and then search for these items based on various criteria.

So an iOS app using an SQLite database.

Do I declare and build the database using SQL within Xojo, or do I build the database using something like Valentina Studio and copy it across. I can see RealBasic used to have a built in tool but that seems to be missing in the current version of Xojo.

I have also looked at Alpha Anywhere which seems to have more tools and hints available, but it won’t build an iOS app.

Appreciate your assistance in getting me going on my Xojo journey - I have been enjoying Paul’s webinars while doing my ironing on the weekend.
thanks
Hamish

You can create a SQLite database with Xojo IDE

There are a bunch of Free and Inexpensive tools to help you work with SQLite. I’m a fan of Base but also use Navicat on a regular basis. I don’t recommend using the built-in database editor - it just does too many things wrong.

As far as iOS goes you can do a couple of things. You could either put a copy in the resources directory and then copy it to the ApplicationData directory at startup (if it’s not already there), or you could have a script file and do an SQLExecute to run the script after creating the database in the proper location.

I agree Bob, personally I use to create the database by code.
But he is wondering if he can create the database with Xojo and the answer is YES

Thanks gents. @Antonio Rinaldi when you say you can create the database with Xojo, is that using SQL or is there a GUI or other tool I can use.

Apologies; my background is as an accountant so this is new to me. And while I am pretty good at financial modelling in Excel with various formulae, I always shied away from macros. So learning Xojo is a big learning curve.