Serial Value Fetching

Hello,
I am new to Xojo, but have various programming experience. In that experience, I never worked with serial ports and communicating with USB. In my current project, that is where I am having issues. I am attempting to fetch numerical values from a device and return them to a listbox that will be the source for a graph using the monkeybread plugin.

Could someone walk me through what steps to take to accomplish this task? I am struggling. Thanks!

[quote=168350:@Meade Lewis]Hello,
I am new to Xojo, but have various programming experience. In that experience, I never worked with serial ports and communicating with USB. In my current project, that is where I am having issues. I am attempting to fetch numerical values from a device and return them to a listbox that will be the source for a graph using the monkeybread plugin.

Could someone walk me through what steps to take to accomplish this task? I am struggling. Thanks![/quote]

What have you got so far ?

Hi

First you open serialport like in Examples/Communication/Serial

then you put in DataAvailable event in serial some code to read data.

There is example from my code:

if ascdec(0).Value then
    dim chrarr(-1) As  String
    chrarr=Split(me.ReadAll(Encodings.ISOLatin1), "")
    TextArea1.AppendText "Receiving: "
    For Each chrs as String in chrarr
      TextArea1.AppendText Str(Asc(chrs)) + " "
    next
    TextArea1.AppendText Chr(13)
  else
    TextArea1.AppendText "Receiving: " +me.ReadAll(Encodings.ISOLatin1) + EndOfLine
  end if

I have radiobutton (ascdec) to select if I want ascii text or decimal values of characters.
And then I put this on TextArea, you can put it on listbox as well.

You can also use timer and Serial1.LookAhead to see if there is something and read with Serial1.ReadAll if You don’t want to use DataAvailable event.

Jukka

[quote=168532:@Jukka Leino]Hi

First you open serialport like in Examples/Communication/Serial[/quote]