Shell novice - help needed (OSX)

Hi all,

First of all I should make the disclaimer that I’m a UNIX novice so I may need a little hand-holding with this.

I’m trying to connect to a MySQL database through SSH tunnel with a pem key. Now if I do this in Terminal (my key is in the Downloads folder):

ssh -v -N -L 7777:127.0.0.1:3306 -i ~/Downloads/mydomain.pem ubuntu@mydomain.com 

…then my app can connect just fine using the normal

DB = New MySQLCommunityServer
  DB.Host = "127.0.0.1"
  DB.UserName = "root"
  DB.Password = ""
  DB.DatabaseName = "mydatabase"
  DB.Port = 7777

What I’m trying to do is do the terminal bit in Xojo too. What I’ve tried is the following but the debug app just hangs and I have to force quit.

Dim s as New Shell
  Dim cmd as string="ssh -v -N -L 7777:127.0.0.1:3306 -i ~/Downloads/mydomain.pem ubuntu@mydomain.com"
  s.Execute(cmd)

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance

You need to use an Asynchronous shell mode. Set s.mode = 2 before calling s.Execute.

But, why don’t you use Xojo’s built in DB connectivity options?

Awesome. That’s exactly what I needed. Thanks for the very quick reply.

How would you suggest I do it, bearing in mind I need an SSH tunnel and the key to connect?

Agh! This was working fine for me last time I tried a few weeks ago. Just tried again and I’m getting this error.

If I do the port forwarding in Terminal like I previously was it works fine. And the key is OK because I can connect with Sequel Pro.

Any ideas? I’m going nuts here!

Does the tunnel still work if you create it in Terminal?

Hi Greg

Yes - that’s what has me confused.

I don’t really know why, but changing the string name from ‘cmd’ to ‘xxx’ finally fixed it!

‘cmd’ isn’t a reserved word is it?

No, and it’s the variable name I use all the time. Something else is going on here…

Kem - you’re right. After a restart it no longer connects again.

Is this something I could get some direct support to try and resolve if I pay for the Desktop licence?