How to Use NSImage for Retina Image Handling

I am a novice Xojo user and as a novice I don’t expect or want to use declares often or at all. I can see having to use declares for advanced functionality, but not for something like determining when to display a retina image, or to get access to system images. Isn’t that what I purchased Xojo for?

I don’t want to have to copy the whole MacOSLib into my project (there’s a lot of code I don’t understand and it also significantly adds to compile time), and I don’t want purchase a third party solution for functionality that Xojo should already come with.

The Xojo user guide states to use BackingScaleFactor, but I have read on this forum that it is no longer recommended to use this to determine whether or not to display a retina image. Several posts on this forum recommended to use NSImage which will allow the OS to handle which image is loaded.

Is there a lightweight, simple way to work with NSImage? Can someone show a clear example on how exactly to do this?

Thank you

no need for macoslib and others.

Just use paint event to draw picture smaller.
So 144dpi picture in memory and draw with drawpictue.

g.drawpicture pic, 0, 0, g.width, g.height, 0, 0, pic.width, pic.height.

I need this for custom toolbar button images.

Maybe you should check http://ohanaware.com/retinakit/

At this time Xojo does not natively handle retina for Mac desktop. As Michel suggested, RetinaKit is best for a novice, as Sam has done all the hard work to make retina easy (and display images on Windows)

[quote=155246:@Mark Scardingo]I need this for custom toolbar button images.
[/quote]

You can set the icon of the toolbutton to an image with the right number of pixels (32 or 64) and Xojo will scale them down. Works fine for retina @2x to set a 64x64 picture object.