"Can't use an undefined value as a symbol reference" in .cgi file

I’m currently testing a VPS configuration.
I installed Ubuntu 12.04 (32bits) and zPanel. Now I’m trying to run a simple web app but I’m getting this error in the log:

[error] Can't use an undefined value as a symbol reference at /var/zpanel/hostdata/zadmin/public_html/.../webtest/webtest.cgi line 118. [error] Premature end of script headers: webtest.cgi
I’m no Perl expert, but it seems that something went wrong in the .cgi script at line 118. Any Idea of what’s going on here?

I’ve tried with a simple script that display the environment variables::

print "Content-type: text/plain\ \ "; foreach $var (sort(keys(%ENV))) { $val = $ENV{$var}; $val =~ s|\ |\\\ |g; $val =~ s|"|\\\"|g; print "${var}=\"${val}\"\ "; }And it worked fine. I’ve checked the permissions of my web app’s files and the apache config, and everything seems OK. Still, all I got an error 500 whil trying to launch it…
Did anyone see this behavior before?

Eric.

I remember that I had that before. Deleting app and uploading again did help me.

Thanks for the tip Christian.
Unfortunately it didn’t work. I built the web app with 2014r1.1. I will try with other versions tomorrow morning.

Eric.

http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/Deploying_Web_Apps_on_Linux
Web Logs :

If you get an “Internal Server Error” or any error, you need to check the web server log for specifics. A common source of problems is incorrect permissions.

Is yourapp’s config.cfg writeable, most of the time i forget that myself.

Actually, that’s where the error message come from.

Permissions were rwxrwxr-x for the test.

http://members.upc.nl/a.kuiper7/Pics/LinuxPermissions.jpg

Try setting the permission to 777 as in the picture and if that works try decrementing the permissions.