[Tip] Embedded WOFF Fonts

Hi,

For a Website I’m working on I needed to use a custom font that is not available on Google fonts and other similar services, so I studied a way to use custom embedded fonts in Xojo Web Applications.

I’ve red a few threads about this but none of them gave a concrete solution. So here is my solution, perhaps there is a better one but this solution is working pretty well and might help others to use embedded fonts in their Web Applications:

1. First you need a WOFF font, you can create such fonts from any TTF fonts for instance, look on Google you will even find online services doing that for free. You can add several variations of your fonts (bold, italic, etc…), each one being a different WOFF file.

2. Once you have your WOFF font, simply drag & drop it into your Web Application project somewhere, probably in a Fonts folder.

3. Then add this code to your App.HandleSpecialURL:

Select Case Request.Path Case "fonts/myFont.woff" Request.Print(myFont) Return( True ) Case "fonts/myFontBold.woff" Request.Print(myFontBold) Return( True ) Case etc.. Request.Print(etc..) Return( True ) End Select
This will handle fonts requests from anywhere, no Session needed here.

1. Add this code to your App.HTMLHeader:

<style type="text/css"> @font-face { font-family: myFont; src: url('special/fonts/myFont.woff'); font-weight: normal; font-style: normal; } @font-face { font-family: myFont; src: url('special/fonts/myFontBold.woff'); font-weight: bold; font-style: normal; } etc.. </style>
This defines your custom font, you can Google @font-face to have more informations about this CSS definition.

Now your application is ready to answer ‘myFont’ requests, but for this you have to set somewhere which font you want to use and select ‘myFont’. Normally you would do this inside a WebStyle. Unfortunately you can’t enter arbitrary font names in the font family property of a WebStyle (Or can you ? But I didn’t find a way yet).